Day 1. “Southsiders”- by Atmosphere

218840_820231303338_476498_oWhen I was in elementary school I had a little, black boom box radio with two tape decks and a microphone input jack. It wasn’t exactly mine. It was my parents. I would sneak it out of the hutch in our dining room, along with my Mom’s microphone right when I would get home from school.

I’d turn on the radio. FM97.9…in Lancaster, PA. I’d hit record.  1998 top 20. I’m 10 years old, and in the 4th grade. “Hard Knock Life” by Jay-Z is blasting in my neon green painted bedroom, and I’m loving every minute of it.

4th grade and doubtfully going shopping at that point, I didn’t have access to my own tape collection. I started a collection of tape-recorded radio shows and mix-tapes from my friends in the neighborhood. Sometimes I’d fast forward the tapes (through “When the Lights go out” by 5ive), and rewind (“Jump Jive & Wail ” by The Brian Setzer Orchestra) so many times that the tape would get stuck, ultimately causing it to kink..and ultimately bringing it to its demise. There were occasions where I would take my time to carefully spin the tape back into its cassette. Other times I’d wait eagerly by the radio with a fresh Maxell to record the next top Pop on FM97.9.

In 28 years, I’ve seen records, cassettes, CDs, MP3 players, and now I’ve got my entire life’s musical library on one 160GB classic i-pod (and it’s not even 3/4 full). Amen.

To this first album of the year- I’d like to share that I only discovered the artist a few years ago. I enjoy hip/hop. And, the music Atmosphere has been putting out the past decade or more has been excellent. For those that don’t take to hip/hop well, listen to the stories. This music is from the soul. Please enjoy, “Southsiders (Delux Version) ” by Atmosphere.

Favorite Tracks:

  • Track 9- Fortunate
  •  Track 2-Arthur’s Song (music video)
  • Track 13- Flicker
  • Track 7- Bitter (music video)
  • Track 5- I Love You Like A Brother

It’s hard to believe that such a poetic album would come out of a rapper that calls himself “Slug”. Sean Daley (Slug), raps about the struggle of addiction, acceptance, wanting to be a better person, humanity, his family, and his inner struggle with the current state of society (at least that’s what I took out of it…).

Tomorrow’s Album- “Crush” by Lettuce. Get ready for some funky fresh tunes to dance to! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

