Day 10. ” The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars” by David Bowie

330908_961004348028_1335115318_o
Giant Bubbles at Glider Point, La Jolla

“The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars” by David Bowie

In high school I became more adherent to what was happening in the world. After 9/11-my freshman year, and then the first be-heading video of Nick Berg (who grew up in a neighboring town) in 2004, I had a pretty bleak outlook on where things were going in the world (or maybe it was all those Michael Moore movies). I remember being more sad than anything else. On days that I wanted to fight the fight, I would pop in an Anti-flag album and sing “You’ve gotta die for the government!” (boy, was I naive-but man does this album give me a nostalgic high!) On days I wanted to live in a different world, I would pop in Bowie. Which ironically, had very political undertones.

The first track of The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust is the best opening song of any album ( I say that now, and I will probably say that for 100 more albums this year because of how enthusiastic I get about music). Really though, Five Years is a brilliant inception to an album about an alien rock star named Ziggy Stardust. How neat is that!? That’s pretty neat!

Something worth checking out (if you haven’t already) is the soundtrack to “The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou” where Seu Jorge, a wonderful Brazilian musician/actor, covered many of the tracks from this album (ie- Starman, Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide, Life on Mars & Five Years). Stupendous, my friends 🙂 And of course it is Wes Anderson…, not mention that Willem Dafoe plays an adorable little German man named Klaus.

I don’t think I can end this post without the mention of “Moonage Daydream” being my personal favorite. He sings:

“Keep your ‘lectric eye on me babe
Put your ray gun to my head
Press your space face close to mine, love
Freak out in a moonage daydream oh yeah!”

And then there is this.

No better album to end my week of Bowie with ❤ Adieu. Nous t’aimons beaucoup ❤

david_bowie_1976

Monday: “Drones” by Muse.. Unleash a million drones, and confine me then erase me babe!

Leave a Reply

