Day 17. “Man on the Moon- The End of Day” by Kid CuDi

1928780_518825627728_4413_n
Milli Millz & I-Man…Mean Muggin’.       Circa 2003

There was a period of time when my brother and I were re-writing lyrics to all our most hated pop-songs… I  remember singing:

” Mini-Men….mini mini mini…mini-men”

We also recorded our own version of the Star Wars soundtrack, and made our own dance routines to the Mortal Combat Theme Song

My neighbor/best friend (Kaitlin ie. Katers Potaters, Ralphy, the other half to my best friend heart necklace..) and I would include him in our monthly performances we put on for our parents.

The most memorable being: the time he performed “Bad Boys, bad boys…whatcha gonna do?” in his over-sized black leather jacket and stunner shades. He was probably about 6 years old at the time.

We even allowed him to participate in our debut performance of “Misty Mummy” where we tied a sprinkler onto a tree branch in Kaitlin’s backyard…and walked through it like Mummies to our very short piano composition (I think it was about 5 notes long). Performance Art at its best.

Kid CuDi was an artist that my brother introduced me to. After my Dad passed away, we would get pretty bummed out, go for a drive together and listen to this album. We didn’t really have to talk much. The time shared together was comfort enough, and the lyrics on this album were encouraging. They emanated strength, which is what we needed most to push on.

Track 5- “Heart of a Lion

he sings:

At the end of the day my momma told me don’t let no one break me let no one break me
At end of the day, day, nobody, nobody, ever could stop me ever could stop me
At the end of the day, day you can’t regret it if you were trying if you were trying
At the end of the day I’m walking with a heart of a lion yea

But, the album wasn’t just another rapper rapping about how he is better than everyone else (though he does not stray from sharing his ego). His lyrics are romantic, imaginative, and dark. He brought something new to the table.

he sings:

I’m something different in all aspects
Don’t want a woman just to love her assets

Respect. ❤

I admire you brother, for the man you have become, and all the times you put up with my lame music video ideas 🙂 Remember that time you wrote that sweet rap lyric? Chocolate bunnies are better than my hunnies? hahahaha 🙂

Tomorrow: “Blood on the Tracks” by Bob Dylan Like it was written in my soul from me to you…Tangled up in blue.

 

Leave a Reply

