Day 20. “You Forgot It In People” by Broken Social Scene

10501679_10101446367884568_8449234706291665189_n
2014 solo road trip from Ithaca, New York to Lancaster, Pennsylvania

“You Forgot it in People” by Broken Social Scene

Solo road trips. I love them. It is my time to explore or re-visit natural beauty…sometimes in silence, but often with music. To me, there are few things more inspiring then driving off to the unknown, getting lost…and listening to music.

When I first started driving, I would take off to the back roads of rural Pennsylvania with my music blaring on the stereo…windows down and EVERYTHING was beautiful. The cornfields, old wooden fences, clouds, dirt roads, trees, the rocks…the subliminal white plastic bag from American Beauty.

I would pretend that I was in a movie, and the music was the soundtrack to my life.

This album has been part of my library for years, but only in playlists. This is the first time I’ve listened to this album as a whole. This is my 20th day out of 261 week days of the year. It has been an incredible start to this musical adventure.

A few years ago I began writing about every album on my i-pod (there are 795 of them-I may be a music hoarder). I stopped after 3. I started to realize…there was a lot of crap on my i-pod, and it just wasn’t worth my time. But, I still wanted to write about music, and my experiences, and how it has shaped my life. I think this plan is more solid. I’ve got a lot to share, so bare with me! At times, it might be hard to read, but it is all real…and it comes from the heart ❤ Music is nothing without heart.

Track 7- “Anthems for a Seventeen Year Old Girl”

Park that car, drop that phone, sleep on the floor, dream about me

 

Music, just like any other art form, allows one to see the world from many different perspectives. Evoking the memories of our past, and encouraging broader horizons, music eliminates the idea of “time” and lets us just breathe it all in. BREATH IT IN people! 🙂

Track 6- “Pacific Theme”

instrumental

Broken Social Scene is made up of all different musicians/artists that have collaborated together to create something exceptional. How neat is that?

Take an hour of your day, put on your favorite album…and just soak it in. Listen to the lyrics, and relate. Listen to the instrumental, and understand why it was put there. Follow the notes between the tracks… clear your mind…and enjoy.

❤ You! Do that…and report back on Monday for a new album!

Tá m’árthach foluaineach lán d’eascanna!

 

Leave a Reply

