Day 23. “Bringing Down the Horse” by The Wallflowers

11741116_10102069145014208_6375985374072853955_o
Jakob w/ The Wallflowers at the Del Mar Race Tracks-2015

Bob & Sara Dylan’s love child…Jakob.  That voice though…

I grew up on this album. My sister had purchased the cassette version, and I stole it after she had it for a week (sorry..Lydia). It was 1996…and 6th Avenue Heartache was on the radio every day. 20 years ago.

Track 1- “One Headlight

he sings:

I’m so alone and I feel just like somebody else
Man, I ain’t changed, but I know I ain’t the same
But somewhere here in between the city walls of dyin’ dreams
I think of death, it must be killin’ me

I recorded myself singing this song for my Amelia Brubaker radio show of 1997.

Track 4-“Three Marlenas

he sings:

Man, I think I’m gonna buy myself a Rolls
Maybe a Chevrolet
One where I can pull that top down
Just let my radio play

Definitely an essential in the soundtrack of my life.

Jakob Dylan…those eyes, strikingly bushy brows, that mysterious character, 90’s goatee..the husky voice 🙂 ❤ heyyyyyyy

large.jpg

Track 5-“The Difference

he sings:

One, two boys by the river
Down by the water
Tellin’ riddles in the dark
With fireflies under the moonlight
Carvin’ the insides of a tree with a knife
Ever hear the one about the boy’s big sister
His best friend come along
He tried to kiss her

And now, I will end with my favorite song on the album:

 

Track 8-“Josephine

he sings:

I feel pretty good
I feel all right
And I’ve been thinkin’ maybe
I could spend the night

I know you’ve been sad
I know I’ve been bad
But if you’d let me
Make you ribbons from a paper bag

[Chorus:]
Josephine
You’re so good to me
And I know
It ain’t easy
Josephine
You’re so sweet
You must taste just like sugar & tangerines

I won’t make a sound
Sleep on the ground
When you wake I will
Drive you into town
I missed your smile
Your schoolgirl style
But I never had much fun
Maybe the very first mile

[chorus]

Don’t you know
I watched you walkin’ home from school
Your friends on the old playgrounds
You never looked so down
Won’t you come and help me with these cuts of mine?
I’ve disconnected my heart
And cut myself on the wires
Josephine

I know I was wrong
I knew all along
But I got so far from my home
I never thought I’d be so lonesome

Tomorrow: “Underachievers Please Try Harder” by Camera Obscura You’re such a beautiful writer, That’s not all you are. ❤ Carey Lander, Rest in Peace.
Leave a Reply

