Day 27. “Morning View” by Incubus

20150830_225208_HDR
Incubus @ Sleep Train Amphitheater in 2015.

There was a point in my life where I was into choreography… (go ahead and laugh for those of you that know me) It’s the truth.

This all stemmed from the shows that Kaitlin and I would put on for our parents, and my involvement in musical theater (at least that is what I tell myself).

I was determined to create an entire choreographed recital to “Morning View” by Incubus. Yes, folks. It was magical. Just imagine…the opening…


Incubus @ Sleep Train in Chula Vista- August 2015

Track 1- “Nice to Know You”

Better than watching Gellar bending silver spoons.
Better than witnessing new born nebulaes in bloom.
She who sees from ‘up-high’ smiles and surely sings.
Perspective pries your once weighty eyes and it gives you wings.

I guess this was my first attempt at interpretive dance? Either way, thank god it was not video-taped.

I truly love everything about this album, and about this band. I have had the pleasure of seeing them live twice in my life.

The first time I saw Incubus was well after my days of choreography…(it was the same year) It was my 14th birthday. Kaitlin took me to see them at The Star Pavilion in Hershey, Pennsylvania.

Track 10- “Have you Ever”

Unabashed honesty would be ideal,
But a prophet did once say that honesty is a lonely word.
So where do we go from here… Abandon ship now?
My problem is you made me melt and I don’t want to be frozen anymore.

We were in the front row, holding onto the fence. It was my first big concert (it would have been Hansen if I didn’t end up getting sick in front of the Hershey Bank…such a pity? I think we can all agree that this was a far better first concert) I remember being more excited than the time I got my Fisher-price Dream Dollhouse.

I could see the band on the field behind the stage playing soccer. Mesmerized, I followed the white and black checkers with my eyes, as the space around me became teeming of people (key in Walking Dead theme song). Kaitlin tapped me on the shoulder, and I looked around. There were thousands, and we were right there, in the front, holding onto the fence, to see Incubus.

The band crept on-stage, and it was quiet. The soft sounds, a little percussion, beat-boxing…then the lights burst into full brightness, and “Nice to Know You”.

By the end of that first song, I was practically half way over the fence from everyone pushing behind me.

Then they played

Track 2-“Circles”

You saw me lost and treading water,
I looked pathetic,
I looked as helpless as a stinger without a bee.
But underneath my presentation, (yeah.)
I knew the walls were coming down
and the stones that fell were aiming away from me.

A fairly large, sweaty gentleman squeezed his way between Kaitlin and I, and fell over the fence (key in Turn Down for what-you probably don’t want to watch that music video). I kept my stance, because I was never leaving that spot. Not with Brandon Boyd standing within arms reach, shirtless.

118233

 

Yeah..nope-don’t even think about taking this spot, buddy…

It was a beautiful thing, Brandon Boyd’s shirtless torso. He sang with such passion that every muscle contracted, and every bit of skin was stretched…bah! Amazing.

Track 3- “Wish You Were Here”….yeah you do.

Despite the beautiful Brandon Boyd, my attention moved onto something more alluring in the concert. About three quarters of the way through, they brought out an abundance of instruments from around the world. This is one aspect of their music that has me hold them in a higher regard. Much like BECK, they experiment with all different types of musical instruments which adds depth to their compositions. Incorporating many different styles and worldly influences has made their music sincerely captivating (or, I just really really like Brandon Boyd’s shirtless torso…shhhh).

Track 13- “Aqueous Transmission”

I’m floating down a river
Oars freed from their holes long ago
Lying face up on the floor
Of my vessel
I marvel at the stars
And feel my heart overflow

Further down the river

The second time I saw them was 14 years later. 2015 at Sleep Train Amphitheater in Chula Vista, CA. But, that’s for another Incubus album!

Tomorrow: “Axis: Bold As Love” by Jimi Hendrix I just want to talk to you. I won’t uh, do you no harm, I just want to know about your different lives, on this here people farm.

Leave a Reply

