Day 31. “Eve 6” by Eve 6

Have you ever gone to see one of your favorite bands right before they broke up? That was the one and only time I saw Eve 6.

It was 2004, and I was a Junior in High school. I had been listening to Eve 6 since middle school, and was so excited to hear they would be performing at the Chameleon Club in Lancaster. I coerced a few of my friends to go with me, and made sure we got their early for a good spot.

Well…there were plenty of good spots. Lots of them. An hour in…still pretty empty. And, there were still good spots minutes before Eve 6 was going to play. We quite possibly were the only people there.

Probably one of the most awkward experiences for both the audience and the band. What I didn’t know was that the band was on the outs already. Their most recent album at the time wasn’t doing very well, and I can’t say that I ever listened to it (now I feel like I should… It’s All in Your Head).

They definitely were not excited to play the show, and seemed pretty pissed about it. Not to mention, they all had to be fairly intoxicated… or they just really didn’t give a fuck…Who knows. All I know is this: that night I sang more lyrics than Max Collins could pronounce, and that same night I retired my two treasured Eve 6 albums.

 

I  have decided to bring them back, I am happy about it, and I still know every lyric to this entire album.

Eve 6-Self titled 1998

Notable tracks- all of them.

these lyrics…

Track 2- “Inside Out

he sings:

I would swallow my pride, I would choke on the rinds
But the lack thereof would leave me empty inside
Swallow my doubt turn it inside out
Find nothin’ but faith in nothin’
Want to put my tender, heart in a blender
Watch it spin around to a beautiful oblivion
Rendezvous then I’m through, now I’m through with you

and this.

Track 3- “Leech

Suckin’ on my brain your the teacher I’m the student
Turning things around your story’s not congruent
Tabloid decoys pitiful excuses
Turning things around You’re turning things around

and this.

Track 8- “Tongue Tied

Take my tongue
It’s cocked and loaded The board has
dubbed you special student Sit alone sweat
in silence We don’t tolerate defiance

So good.

Tomorrow: “Takk…” by Sigur Ros  Get ready for a totally different musical experience…

Happy Monday! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

