Day 32. “Takk…” by Sigur Ros

 

image
View from my balcony

Lucky. I love this view. Sure- It’s not the beach, or the mountains…but it works for me 🙂

As I look into the night sky, and watch the sparking headlights from the distant freeway…I listen to one of my favorite albums, “Takk…” by Sigur Ros.

I remember when I first listened to this album. It was in 2006. I had just graduated high school, and had no idea what I was going to do with my life. Well, there was a plan…but it had been foiled. My dream was to become an Architect, and I had a full ride to Philadelphia University. On the other hand, my internal ego was getting the best of me…and I acted as if I was the only person that wanted to go to Philadelphia University. I mean, they gave me the full ride…and, I declined. Coming from a small town, and working since I was 13…I never really knew what it was like to be treated like a fish in the sea. My support group wasn’t in Philadelphia, it was in Lancaster.

After my acceptance to Philadelphia University, I had to schedule a portfolio review with some of the professors at the college. It was scheduled for April, 2006. In March, I called the school to find out the logistics of my meeting. I had spent every moment preparing, and calming my excitement. Picking a college was, to me, one of the most important decisions of my life.

I called.

” Miss Brubaker, I’m sorry but we have no record of your acceptance. I do not see anything here regarding your portfolio review.”

Flustered, and upset, I explained to the administration about receiving the full Architecture scholarship at our high-school awards ceremony.

” I’m sorry, but there must have been a mistake. We have no record of your acceptance. If you would like to re-apply for next year, I can get you the paperwork.”

I hung up the phone, and felt defeated. There was no back up plan. I had everything planned out for moving to Philadelphia. I had even started compiling a list of the local shops, and planned out my morning run at the neighboring park.

Not wanting to take a year off of school, I decided to start my first year of college online with The Art Institute of Pittsburgh.

A few months before I started classes with The Art Institute of Pittsburgh, I received a letter…

” Dear Miss Brubaker,

This letter is to inform you of your housing placement at Philadelphia University. Please fill out the form to determine your dormitory…”

I threw the letter away, and started a new chapter in my book.

 

That year, I spent almost every evening with my friends that were attending The Art Institute of York. They never had anything good to say about it. It was all about getting screwed over by student loans, and the teachers don’t know what they are doing…the projects are crap…etc. What I did notice, is that they were doing something with their art, and they were passionate about it. It didn’t matter how “bad” their education was, they were incredibly talented and creative people. The education was just there for the degree, and some self discipline.

This album came from one of those artists. They were studying film at The Art Institute, and a few of these songs were used in their work.

______

I told my 4 year old roommate that he could contribute to this post. I asked him what he thought about this album, and this was his response:

“This music is boring. I don’t dance about this music. Can’t handle it. It doesn’t work. It’s not rock and roll. That’s slow. Beh…” eye roll….shuffles to the bathroom…” I’m going potty…MOMMMM!!!! I need a Banana!! I like rock and roll. I like the monkey face song. It makes me want to eat a banana.”

 

To me, this album is like yoga for the brain cells 🙂 Meditation after defeat. Preparation for a new journey.

❤ Later Tuesday!

Tomorrow: “Elephant” by The White Stripes I’m gonna fight ’em off! A seven nation army couldn’t hold me back!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

