Day 37. “Crash” by Dave Matthews Band

477329_626187947466_1700231712_o
Me & Lydia -1989

Number 1 influence of my musical upbringing, is my sister Lydia. I followed her from the days of Blackhawk (legendary country band from the 90’s with luscious locks) all the way to Pokey LaFarge & The South City Three (Millennial steppin’ Ragtime/American Band).

In the beginning, I would just steal cassette tapes from her room (Blackhawk, John Michael Montgomery, The Wallflowers, Barenaked Ladies, The Beatles).Once Lydia accepted the fact that I thought she was a cool big sister (it took a few years), she decided to embrace the fact that I enjoyed listening to her music.

Although this is not one of the albums we blasted at full volume in the toyota camry when Lydia first got her license, it was she that introduced me to Dave Matthews Band (The album was “Under the Table And Dreaming”, but for some reason half of it got deleted from my library…so, I settled with “Crash”).

I never really understood why people don’t like Dave Matthews Band. Oh my god…he SOLD OUT?? What is this world coming to… 😉

I really do love this album. It contains one of my favorite love songs of all time:

Track 6- “Say Goodbye

he sings:

So here we are tonight
You and me together
The storm outside, the fire is bright
And in your eyes I see
What’s on my mind
You’ve got me wild
Turned around inside
And then desire, see, is creeping
Up heavy inside here
And know you feel the same way
I do now

This day…it’s going to drive me right out of my brain (seriously, it almost did). So..thank you, Dave! Monkey see, monkey do…YEAH! I’m a puppy for your love. (not really, but I thought it would be fun to write this blog using your lyrics). Celebrate we will, because life is short but sweet for certain! ❤

Goodnight 🙂

Tomorrow: “New Found Glory”  by New Found Glory Ash his heart onto the ground. Pull his guts out by frustration, Be careful you might kill him…

Leave a Reply

