Day 44. “Speakerboxxx/The Love Below” by Outkast

I remember being so excited to pick up this album. It was 2003, and I was a sophomore in high school. I was also 16 years old, and had just picked up my drivers license.

Life was bliss. I was very active in school. Marching Band, Theater, Tri-M, ITS…basically anything that involved creativity, I immersed myself in.

This was the same year I took Musical Theater, where my classmates and I created a modern day version of Cinderella. I was Cinderella. My one chance at being a princess.

I clearly remember one line from a song stating, “You smelllllll, like fresh baked cookies!” (arbitrarily stolen from a scene from “Michael” starting John Travolta..what?) Prince, you know who you are.

I also vaguely remember a male member of the group playing the fairy godmother…and wearing stockings.

We had a good time.

So, relation to this album? THEATRICS!! Outkast is one of the few hip-hop artists to truly embrace theatrics. Their albums are witty, AND whimsical.

I mean…let’s just look at

Track 11 of The Love Below- “Good Day Good Sir”

Ahhh, such sweet sound
The Fiddler on the Fuckin’ Roof
Is that Mr. Bentley Fonzworth?

Indeed it is Sir

Good day, good sir
How do you do? Look fine

Fantastically well
I am certainly not fine by far
But you could say
I’m close to spectacular

Close to spectacular? How so?

 

You know those weird memories you have that pop into your head that aren’t really significant moments in your life, but you remember them vividly? I believe they are called “flashbulb” memories. I have a few associated with this album.

One of them is riding recklessly in a truck with a good friend and her boyfriend through Lancaster city, listening to:

Track 9 from The Love Below- “Hey Ya

OK now ladies (yeah!)
Now we gon’ break this thing down in just a few seconds
Now don’t have me to break this thing down for nothing
Now I wanna see y’all on your baddest behavior
Lend me some sugar, I am your neighbor

Then this quote from a long lost friend,

“Is this your trash?”

 

Tomorrow: “Big Willie Style” by Will Smith Yessss yesss ya’ll and you don’t stop!

Leave a Reply

