Day 45. “Big Willie Style” by Will Smith

285851_904047779448_190604_o

My Dad bought me “Big Willie Style” for my 13th birthday, along with my first puppy, Lacey. My neighborhood friend, Katie, had brought a strobe light to my birthday party.

We’re all dancing to “It’s All Good” around the braided rug on the wood floor of our 200 year old cape cod in suburban Lancaster County. The strobe light flashing, my dad comes in and starts dancing with us. Yeah, I’ve got a cool Dad. Just imagine a bunch of nerdy little white girls dancing around a strobe light..in a farm house…to Will Smith. It was so good.

Track 12- “It’s All Good”

It’s all good, pop the bubbly, life is lovely
All sun no rain
No strain, can’t complain
Pass Hell pain, but no Coumbaya
Now I Boomshaka-laka-laka Boo-ah-ah

I loved having parties. Hosting a party was my chance to share my favorite music with all of my favorite people. No matter the age, letting go and just dancing is guaranteed fun.

Track 3- “Getting Jiggy Wit It”

On your mark ready set let’s go
Dance floor pro I know you know
I go psycho when my new joint hit
Just can’t sit
Gotta get jiggy wit it
Ooh that’s it
Now honey honey come ride
DKNY all up in my eye
You gotta Prada bag with alotta stuff in it
Give it to your friend let’s spin
Everybody lookin’ at me
Glancin’ the kid
Wishin’ they was dancin’ a jig
Here with this handsome kid
Ciga-cigar right from Cuba-Cuba
I just bite it
It’s for the look I don’t light it
Illway the an-may on the ance-day oor-flay
Givin’ up jiggy make it feel like foreplay
Yo my car-dee-o is Infinit-
Ha ha
Big Willie Style’s all in it
Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It

Such a positive album 🙂 Lovin’ Living!

 

Gettin’ Jiggy Wit it…It is one of those songs you just have to embarrassingly blast on your car radio whenever you have guests in your car. Windows down, sub-woofers up…

I did this for my friend Laura’s bachelorette party. If I’m driving, the radio is mine 🙂 It did not disappoint.

 

Track 13- “Just the Two of Us”

It’s a full-time job to be a good dad
You got so much more stuff than I had
I gotta study just to keep with the changin’ times
101 Dalmations on your CD-ROM

I am ashamed to say that this song was released before I knew who Bill Withers was… I love me some Bill Withers ( Lovely day….lovely day…).

This song reminds me so much of my dad. He was always paying attention to what I was listening to (except when he bought me my first album…70 Ounces of SOLID GOLD….Wooly Bully-Watch it now, Watch it!!)

❤ Miss you, Dad 🙂

Throughout life people will make you mad
Disrespect you and treat you bad
Let God deal with the things they do
Cause hate in your heart will consume you too

And…It’s the weeeeeeekend!!!

best-fresh-prince-bel-air-dancing-gifs

 

 

Leave a Reply

