Day 50. “OK Computer” by Radiohead

Track 1- “Airbag”

In an interstellar burst
I am back to save the universe

In a deep deep sleep of the innocent
I am born again

Feeling a little homesick today ❤ “OK Computer” always reminds me of Lancaster. Possibly because I would spend spring afternoons on the hammock between the two large spruce trees in our yard, and listen to it on my CD player while sketching. One of my close friends had ripped the album for me. They had it on one full track making it impossible to skip any songs. Not that it was necessary. I love every song on this album.

In the days of Pop-up video on VH1, my friend Kaitlin and I were fascinated (slightly disturbed) by this weird video-

Track 2- “Paranoid Android”

 

A cool breeze rustles the pine needles around me. My pencil moves across the paper of my brand new hardbound sketchbook. I don’t believe I ever filled a sketchbook in high school. There was always a point at which things became stagnant, and just like buying a new pair of running shoes to kick start healthy activity…a new sketchbook was there to kick start creativity. A blank slate, and endless possibilities. Lying in the hammock in a world that was my oyster…time to make some pearls 😉

Being a melancholic album of sorts, it was the best inspiration for new work. I feed off of existentialism, and philosophical thoughts. Wondering who we are in universe. Purpose. How do we make light of these things? My goal was to poke fun at those feelings. Realize that they were there, and slowly strip away the gravity. It was my way of coping with the inevitable. Realistic dreaming 101.

That was when I came up with sakeFORart. Inundated with pretentious work and ideas, I wanted to create something that everyone could relate to. Often times the subject matter was ridiculous- but fun; colorful, and just art.

Art for Art’s Sake.

Of course, that isn’t at all what this album is about. It shows the disappointment and struggle of living within a contemporary society. I read that Thom Yorke wrote”Paranoid Android” after an evening at a bar where a woman had overreacted over a drink that had been spilled on her. Brings a much more abrasive meaning to-Don’t cry over spilled milk?

My favorite song on the album, is:

Track 4- “Exit Music (For a Film)”

It was written for the brilliant, cult classic adaptation of Romeo + Juliet, ultimately a play on their decision to wed despite the family feud.

he sings:

Wake.. from your sleep
The drying of your tears
Today we escape, we escape

Pack.. and get dressed
Before your father hears us
Before all hell breaks loose

Breathe, keep breathing
Don’t lose your nerve
Breathe, keep breathing
I can’t do this alone

Sing.. us a song
A song to keep us warm
There’s such a chill, such a chill

You can laugh
A spineless laugh
We hope your rules and wisdom choke you
Now we are one in everlasting peace

We hope that you choke, that you choke

 

“A glooming peace this morning with it brings;
The sun, for sorrow, will not show his head:
Go hence, to have more talk of these sad things;
Some shall be pardon’d, and some punished:
For never was a story of more woe
Than this of Juliet and her Romeo”

Romeo & Juliet-William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

