Day 53. “Nevermind” by Nirvana

19049_640647780158_6177211_n
These fools.

70’s shag carpet, wooden cardinals on the walls, coo-coo clocks…yes, my friends. The first place I listened to Nirvana was at my grandparents house. They had just put in a brand new sun room. I was sitting there with my older cousins Katie and Christy. MTV was on the television…and Nirvana’s “Smell Like Teen Spirit” video was playing.

 

I had to have been 4 or 5 at the time. The video came out in 1991 which was the same year my little brother was born and we are only 4 years apart. This was the same age that my older boy cousins were shielding my eyes from Ninja Turtles. I feel like Nirvana should have been censored before Ninja Turtles.

I’m not sure why it stuck in my head as one of those flashbulb memories..but I didn’t listen to Nirvana again until 5 years later in middle school. Even then, I wasn’t really a fan. 5 more years, and I got it. It was high school when I appreciated Nirvana. Probably had to do with the fools in the image above. We were hanging out every night, listening to sweet tunes and going on random adventures through Amish country at night. “Night-Raiding” they called it…in short- cooler name for ding-dong ditch.

Track 5 “Lithium”

he sings:

I’m so happy ’cause today
I’ve found my friends …
They’re in my head
I’m so ugly, but that’s okay, ’cause so are you …
We’ve broken our mirrors
Sunday morning is everyday for all I care …
And I’m not scared
Light my candles, in a daze
‘Cause I’ve found god

Leave a Reply

