Day 55. “Rain Dogs” by Tom Waits

meandbrend
That time I played disheveled Mary Poppins… Brendan was some drugged out film star, and Markle filming in the background.

I spent six months post high school, performing in random silent films for a friend’s art school project. We had so much fun. We’d throw on some heavy makeup, pick out ridiculous outfits…and go.

The image above was from a short film my friend put together at a local church. If I remember correctly…we did a music video for a Beck song and Tom Waits song. I feel like it should have been

Track 3- “Cemetary Polka”

Uncle Vernon
Uncle Vernon
Independent as a
Hog on ice
He’s a big shot down there
At the slaughterhouse
He plays accordion
For Mr. Weiss

We were “zombies” strutting across the stage…and that is about all I remember.

My favorite song on this album is without a doubt:

Track 4- “Jockey Full of Bourbon

Edna Million in a drop dead suit
Dutch Pink on a downtown train
Two dollar pistol but the gun won’t shoot
I’m in the corner on the pouring rain
16 men on a deadman’s chest
And I’ve been drinking from a broken cup
2 pairs of pants and a mohair vest
I’m full of bourbon, I can’t stand up

 

 

And this..

 

Farewell for the weekend! Off to Mexico I go! Adios, Amigos…

Leave a Reply

