Day 58- “The Diary of Alicia Keys” by Alicia Keys

2004-My induction into Tri-M Music Honor Society. My hair was fuchsia, and I was wearing a mint green and blank striped beetle juice-esque button up. What?

For your induction into Tri-M you have to choose a piece of music to perform during the ceremony. I had being listening to “The Diary of Alicia Keys” at the coffee shop I was working at. I couldn’t play punk rock…so I had a choice between Josh Groban & Alicia Keys. I think I made the right decision. I loved to sing, and although I knew all the lyrics to my favorite punk rock songs, it was much more enjoyable to sing along to Alicia Keys. Whenever I slipped this CD into that 5-disc changer, it would stay on repeat throughout my shift. Cleaning dishes suddenly became gratifying.

Low and behold, my co-worker and best friend played Alicia Keys on piano. I was struggling to find a song, and then it clicked. I decided on:

Track 6-“If I Ain’t Got You”

she sings:

Some people live for the fortune
Some people live just for the fame
Some people live for the power, yeah
Some people live just to play the game
Some people think that the physical things
Define what’s within
And I’ve been there before
But that life’s a bore
So full of the superficial

I loved the lyrics, and I loved the challenge. I practiced that song every day for at least a month. I’d sing it in the car, sing it at the shop, sing it at home, and at Megan’s. Then I sang it in our new high school cafeteria. And the 100s of times I practiced:

Some people need three dozen roses

And the 100s of times my voice cracked on roses…that night it probably cracked again…hahaha, but it wasn’t as bad?

This album really connects me with my femininity. It’s passionate, emotional, and personal. Raise your wine glasses to lady power!

😉

Just think of me as the pages in your diary.

Tomorrow:“Dreamboat Annie” by Heart  He’s a magic man, mama!

Leave a Reply

