Day 65. “Mellow Gold” by Beck

What a great way to end a crazy week! Beck’s very first studio album, “Mellow Gold“.

Anti-commercial album goes platinum….

I love it. ❤

I love Beck’s “art for arts sake” approach. A lot of his earlier work was so experimental, but ended up being so much fun!

I mean…

Track 1- “Loser”

he raps:

In the time of chimpanzees
I was a monkey
Butane in my veins
So I’m out to cut the junkie
With the plastic eyeballs,
Spray-paint the vegetables
Dog food stalls with the beefcake pantyhose
Kill the headlights
And put it in neutral
Stock car flaming’ with a loser
And the cruise control
Baby’s in Reno with the vitamin D
Got a couple of couches,
Sleep on the love seat
Someone keeps saying’
I’m insane to complain
About a shotgun wedding
And a stain on my shirt
Don’t believe everything that you breathe
You get a parking violation
And a maggot on your sleeve
So shave your face
With some mace in the dark
Saving’ all your food stamps
And burning’ down the trailer park

 

I rapped the shiznit out of this on my way to work this morning, and it was glorious 🙂

 

Track 2- “Pay No Mind (Snoozer)”- Beck’s middle finger to the world.

Track 3- “Fuckin’ With My Head (Mountain Dew Rock)“- I can’t tell if this song is referring to a woman, or his record label? I’m thinking this is just another middle finger to the world. He’s trying to make it as a musician, but he’s getting screwed over by the industry.

Track 4- “Whiskyclone Hotel City 1997”- I love the title of this song.

he sings:

Rattlesnake on the ceiling’
Gunpowder on my sleeve
I will live here forever
With the ocean and the bees

Track 5- “Soul Sucking Jerk”-Lyrics so good.

he sings:

Pencil on my leg and I’m trying not to beg
Taking turns baking worms
With the bacon and eggs
Well they got me in a birdcage
Flapping my jaw like a pretzel
In the stars just waiting to fall
So give me what I got to get so I can go
Cause I ain’t washing dishes
In the ditch no more

Track 6-“Truckdrivin’ Neighbors Downstairs (Yellow Sweat)”- I’ve had my fair share of these neighbors 🙂

Track 7- “Sweet Sunshine”- umm….drugs much?

Track 8- “Beercan”- Beck being the straight OG nerd he is. Middle finger to the world. Somebody bring me a plate of sassafras 😉

Track 9- “Steal my Body Home”-ahhhhh love love love.

he sings:

Put me in a hole in the ground
With the money and the towel
And the women all running’ around

Can’t complain about the mess
Momma killed the only dress
Now she’s longing’ for the pines

Watch my troubles all unwind
Drinking’ gasoline and wine
Catch a chill off the stove

On the train they cannot feel
Lost my head beneath the wheel
Now she steals my body home

The trees are fake, the air is dead
The birds are stuffed with poison lead
And the ground is much too clean

And if it’s only me who’s scared
Strap ’em to the electric chairs
Ring the moon like a broken bell

When she drags you from the hill
Daddy’s gonna burn down the still
We can watch it from the rooftop

Lay in to the frying’ pan
Now she kisses her own hand
With the fiddle on the fire

I took a leap into the fog
Sleeping’ on a hollow log
Now I’m coughing’ with no mouth

You can keep yourself inside
But you know you cannot lie
When the devil’s your only friend

Track 10- “Nitemare Hippy Girl”….I know a few of these 🙂

Track 11-“Mutherfuker”…I know a few of these, too 🙂

Track 12- “Blackhole” ❤

beck-1994-102_v-img__16__9__l_-1dc0e8f74459dd04c91a0d45af4972b9069f1135

WEEEEEEEEEKEND Commence!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

