Day 67. “Thickfreakness” by The Black Keys

551805_10100357157226458_36343546_n
Salvation Mountain May 2012

Urban exploring became a favorite past time for a few of my friends that are photographers. We would all grab our fancy cameras (that I barely knew how to use), and drive off to some abandoned campus in the middle of nowhere to shoot.

Yes, there was always music involved…and I’m pretty sure this album got plenty of airtime because it is SO good.

I paired it with this post because it reminds me of our trips (although I feel like the Mamas & Papas would be better…but I’ll find something else to relate to that when the time comes).

So, the background story of Salvation Mountain. Leonard Knight was an artist in the early 80s, when he began constructing his first mountain. The mountain came from a prayer that he had become infatuated with after speaking to his sister.

The Sinner’s Prayer:

“Jesus, I now realize I have sinned against you. Please forgive me of my sin. Please come into my life and change my heart. I want you to be my Savior. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leonard, having a moment of clarity, began his artistic journey and built his mountain out of cement, straw, and gallon upon gallon of non-toxic paint. He wanted to show the world, how easy acceptance was.

What was interesting to me was that this was it for Leonard. He dedicated his life to this one mountain, and continued to contribute to it until he passed away just a few years ago in 2014. His main message, “LOVE”.

THICKFREAKNESS…listen to every song, because they are all wonderful 🙂

Track 9- “If You See Me”

If you see me comin’ open up your door
If you see me comin’ open up your door
I’ll give you more lovin’ than any man before
When I hit your door, better treat me right
When I hit your door, better treat me right
Oh, I need you baby
Got no time to-
I’ll do for you, I’m gonna do for you
If you do for me, I’m gonna do for you
I’ll be your man
If you ask me

boum…boum…guitar…yeah! Ahhhh so good!

 

 

Tomorrow: “Justified” by Justin Timberlake.…you know you like it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

