Day 77. “Dookie” by Green Day

1928787_518825907168_8509_n
Pittsburgh! It’s the Pits! Circa 2006

 

I’m pretty sure my old friend, Gordan gave me this album for my 14th birthday. Maybe not…it could have been the Weezer album he gave me (sounds more accurate). Either way, I got this album on my 14th birthday, and he was there…so I am including him in this post.

My 14th birthday party was my first ever co-ed slumber party. I was dating the wonderful Patrick (my sisters arch nemesis), and had a few of my closest friends over for badminton, bbq and of course…sweet tunes. Wait, Kaitlin, did you buy me this album?! Each one of my friends bought me an album for my birthday. I believe it was this album, Weezer’s “Maladroit”, and Incubus’s “Morning View” (that one was definitely from Jeff).

That was the same evening that my best friend Kaitlin and I decided we were going to dress up as Laura Croft (I really wish I had those photos), to surprise our boyfriends the next morning…Definitely surprised them. A year later we created our own Tomb Raider movie, and it was awesome (in a not so awesome kind of way).

It was June, and it was the best kind of night you could ask for. Tossing birdies in the air, and feeling that warm, humid east coast weather. This album, blasting in the background. Fireflies, everywhere.

I was surprised at how well I still knew the lyrics to every song on this album, and thoroughly enjoyed signing along at the top of my lungs during my commute. Jane (my candy red golf sportswagon, was happy about it).

“It rocks right from the start. Opener ‘Burnout’ begins with a drum roll and barrels ahead like a stolen shopping cart full of stoners careening down a steep hill.”

ha!

My favorite song on this album, is also the shortest song on the album.

Track 14- “F.O.D.”

Something’s on my mind
It’s been for quite some time
This time I’m on to you

So where’s the other face
The face I heard before
Your head trip’s boring me

Let’s nuke the bridge we torched 2,000 times before
This time we’ll blast it all to hell

I’ve had this burning in my gut now for so long
My belly’s aching now to say

Stuck down in a rut
Of dislogic and smut
A side of you well hid

When it’s all said and done
It’s real and it’s been fun
But was it all real fun?

Let’s nuke the bridge we torched 2,000 times before
This time we’ll blast it all to hell

I’ve had this burning in my guts now for so long
My belly’s aching now to say…..

 

AIR DRUMS….commence!!!! YASSSS!!! 🙂 Who had 4 cups of coffee today? What?

And of course, have to share this gem…

Tomorrow: “No Need to Argue” by The Cranberries

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

