Day 104: “I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You” by Aretha Franklin

263560_854756349868_6428573_n
Dad on the morning of his Jingle Bell Run ❤

“I Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You” by Aretha Franklin

Track 1- “Respect”

Thank god for all the strong female musicians of our time. Laying down the law. Expressing the feelings we are all told to repress. Represent!

Not only is this a powerful album, but it happens to be a lot of fun 🙂

I find it interesting, especially in the current age of dating, that society tells us to not take things too seriously. Many women end up ignoring intuitions, feelings, just because they don’t want to come off as demanding/pushy/needy. As if our greatest threat is rejection, as opposed to sharing our time with someone that doesn’t want it. Does anyone sing about that? It seems like most female musicians are singing about heartache in a much more raw manner-not necessarily questioning this dilemma/expectation we have.

Ladies, express yourself and respect yourself!

I’m probably one of those many woman that have been shown by their father that no one can compete with them. The first male figure in your life that sets the bar for your romantic endeavors. But, what you often don’t think about is the difference between a relationship with a parent and a spouse. The way our parent treats us, is entirely different than the way they treat their spouse. Seems kind of obvious, but I know I’m guilty of comparing my dates to my Dad.

With that- Dad, I’ve Never Loved a Man the Way I love You.

Tomorrow: “At Last!” by Etta James

Leave a Reply

