Day 108. “Gossip In The Grain” by Ray LaMontagne

10287051_10152106972693240_4847510059894644924_o
Lower Doane and French Valley Trails, Mt. Palomar.

 

My friend that invited me to the house concert on Saturday night, re-introduced me to Ray LaMontagne. Thank you, Kaleigh! I had recognized a few of his songs, but didn’t know much about him.

After today, I’m in love with this man’s rich, raspy voice 🙂

Listening to this album reminds me of growing up on the east coast, living in an old farmhouse, waking up to the sheep bahhh-ing outside my window, listening to the rain on the tin roof of my balcony, climbing trees, making necklaces out of clovers, and laying underneath the dark sky comparing the ratio of fireflies to the night stars.

Track 5- “Winter Birds”

It’s the Widow now that owns that angry plow,
The spartan Mule and The Crippled Cow
The fallow field that will yield no more,
As the fox lay sleeping beneath her kitchen floor

The stream can’t contain such the withering rain,
And from the pasture the fence it is leaning away
The clouds crack and growl
Like some great cat on the prowl
Crying out, “I am, I am” over and over again

The days grow short
As the nights grow long
The kettle sings its tortured song
As many petalled kiss I place upon her brow,
Oh, my lady, Lady I am loving you now

The winter birds have come back again,
Here the sprightly Chickadee
Gone now is the Willow Wren
In passing greet each other as if old, old friends
And to the voiceless trees
It is their own they will lend

The days grow short
As the nights grow long
The kettle sings its tortured song
As many petalled kiss I place upon her brow,
Oh, my lady, Lady I am loving you now

And though all these things will change,
The memories will remain
As green to gold, and gold to brown
The leaves will fall to feed the ground
And in their falling, make no sound

And to my grandfather, I love you ❤ May you rest in peace.

Tomorrow: “Veneer” by José González

 

Leave a Reply

