Day 116 through Day 120 presents MXPX week!!

HPIM1753
hah 🙂 PXPX Represent 🙂

Day 116: “Secret Weapon” by MxPx

I took a week’s break from writing, but not from the music. My best friend of…well, since we were 3-4 years old, came to visit me in San Diego for the first time. We went everywhere…including The Troubadour in Hollywood for MxPx on my 29th birthday.

Secret Weapon came out in 2007. Almost 10 years already, wow.  I really love this album. It represents those key topics that Mike Hererra always emphasizes in his lyrics. Be true to yourself, because you are your own secret weapon.

Track 7- “Angels” was always my favorite

In a room without a window, your head starts caving in
Your mind takes you to places, that it’s never been
In a house without a hallway, there’s nothing more to see
Four walls full of pickup sticks and atrophy
Where the sun shines bright and I don’t have to lock my door
Where the moon is full and I’m not tired, anymore

Where angels carry me along the way
Where I can close my eyes at night and pray
Where angels sit and watch me while I look up to the sky
Where angels carry me along the way

A lot of interesting things happened the year that this album came out. I was talking to Nick  everyday while I was living in Pittsburgh. I was planning my escape to see him in San Diego, CA. I was turning 20, and falling head over heels for (get ready for a cards against humanity card) “some douche with an acoustic guitar”.

some-douche-with-an-acoustic-guitar

🙂

Day 117: “Life in General” by MxPx

This album, just the way it starts reminds me of laying in my room, listening to the rain tapping the tin roof of my balcony, and thinking about boys.

Track 1- “Middlename”

Emotion, is my middle name
I lay in bed and listen to the rain
Put happy thoughts in to my head
But I find instead the hurting words you said

Why won’t you believe me
When I tell you the things that I see?
And I’ll still see you tomorrow, at the show

It’s been a long winded, long time
I wish I’d never met you
I wish I could forget you
And what you said
You’re directing your complaints to me
I should walk away, I could easily
Never hear a word you say

I’m not your robot or your slave
I won’t behave, I’m not your toy
Go on go bury me with self righteousness
I confess, I’m just a boy

Day 118: “Before Everything & After” by MxPx

I remember being so excited to pick up this album at Music Den @ Rockvale outlets. I also remember I was working at Darrenkamp’s in Willow Street. One day I got to work produce in the back, and they started playing

Track 7-“Everything Sucks”

All I ever needed was to eat popcorn with you,
Come on over,
Watch the late show,
Stay up talking until two

Today’s the day you’re leaving,
And tomorrow you’ll be gone
You’re in my heart and on my mind,
I will bring you along

Everything sucks when you’re gone,
Everything sucks when you’re gone

I was pretty excited to here MxPx on the radio because it was a rarity. They somehow managed to sneak them in between R. Kelly’s remix to Ignition, and Nelly’s Air Force Ones. Go Radio!

Day 119: “Teenage Politics” by MxPx

I’ve probably listened to this album less than any other MxPx album, which is a shame…because it is AWESOME. I did have a select few favorite tracks that I would play over and over again, but I’m not sure that I ever really listened the entire way through. This was a treat 🙂

Mike’s lyrics are so personal, and interesting. He relates to all of us during our teenage years. It was when we really started questioning life and the decisions we would be making along the way.

Track 11- “Democracy”

believing the lies defines american
they don’t realize their ignorance and sin
democracy ain’t real it’s a fairy tale 
anarchy now then spend the night in jail
i won’t pretend that it ain’t wrong
i won’t just go along
humanity is diseased
and the sickness has increased
for the people by the people
who’s considered people anyway?
the rich get richer and the poor get poorer
so much for equal opportunity!

Day 120: “Pokinatcha” by MxPx

Yes. Yes. and…YES! This is where it all begins, and where it ends this week!

.Weekend Feels.

1442868036211

Leave a Reply

