Day 123. “Green River” by Creedence Clearwater Revival

 

Track 1- “Green River”

Well, take me back down where cool water flows, yeah.
Let me remember things I love,
Stoppin’ at the log where catfish bite,
Walkin’ along the river road at night,
Barefoot girls dancin’ in the moonlight.

I can hear the bullfrog callin’ me.
Wonder if my rope’s still hangin’ to the tree.
Love to kick my feet ‘way down the shallow water.
Shoefly, dragonfly, get back t’your mother.
Pick up a flat rock, skip it across Green River.
Welllllll!

Up at Cody’s camp I spent my days, oh,
With flat car riders and cross-tie walkers.
Old Cody, Junior took me over,
Said, “You’re gonna find the world is smould’rin’.
And if you get lost come on home to Green River.”

Welllllll!
Come on home.

Years ago, I was sitting on the front porch of my parents home back in Pennsylvania. I was on a visit from San Diego, and it the creative mood. It was one of those wonderful, rainy summer days. My favorite…when the sun still shines, but the rain falls lightly…god’s watering can perhaps? I had my headphones in, and was listening to CCR. It was this very album. I had a playlist on my i-pod called “Sountrack to my Life”, and I started brainstorming on how I could turn it into a written story or memoir. Here I am, finally writing things down…years later. I hope to still write a book someday, and use the material from this blog as a starting point.

Tomorrow: “The Original Soundtrack” by 10CC  Life is a Minestrone…served up with parmesan cheese!

Leave a Reply

