Day 126. “Deja Entendu” by Brand New

1928780_518825497988_455_n
My 18th Birthday Party…G0-Karting! Featuring Greg, Megan & Brendan.

“Deja Entendu” by Brand New

I can always associate Brand New with my late teenage years. Maybe it was my strong emotional persona, wearing my heart on my sleeve but still holding close to my values. Brand New just got under my skin! It was the band that allowed the girls to see relationships from a guys viewpoint…but raw, and real?

There was a point where I threw my Deja Entendu to the side because I was so frustrated by their lyrics. Some of their songs reveal the act of prey on vulnerabilities (Track 8-Me vs. Maradona vs. Elvis). The upsetting part about this song is that he’s already guilty about his actions, but continues to do them regardless.

“Me Vs. Maradona Vs. Elvis”

With one or two I get used to the room
We go slow when we first make our moves
By five or six bring you out to the car
Number nine with my head on the barAnd it’s sad, but true
Out of cash and I.O.U’s

I’ve got desperate desires and unadmirable plans
My tongue will taste of gin and malicious intent
Bring you back to the bar
Get you out of the cold
A sober, straight face gets you out of your clothes
And they’re scared that we know
All the crimes they’ll commit
Who they’ll kiss before they get home

I will lie awake
Lie for fun and fake the way I hold you
Let you fall for every empty word I say

 

Brand New pretty much made me terrified to date…anyone…and when I did take that first step out of my comfort zone, I experienced this song. A little brutal in the dating scene…so shout out to all the ladies that have seen the same. I’m sure we’ve all been burned a few times.

 

On a more positive note, this brings back memories to the summers after high school spent with my closest friends. One night in particular-my 18th birthday party. We’ll leave tomorrow’s album for that story 🙂

Tomorrow: “Your Favorite Weapon” by Brand New  I’m gonna stay 18 foreverrrrr!

Leave a Reply

