Day 127. “Your Favorite Weapon” by Brand New

HPIM3095
That sassy lady in the photo is one of my best friends, Megan. Phil is cool too. 🙂

There’s something about a warm summer night in Lancaster County that makes the teenagers go crazy. This happened to be one of those nights.

It was June 10th, 2005…and my best decided…what better way to celebrate a birthday than opening up her family’s go-karting establishment for an evening of rumspringah-debauchery.

We called our various contacts in hopes of scoring some jugs of Carlo Rosse Blush wine (yep).blush

The fire-flies we barely out, and the air was fresh. We popped in some tunes, and drove to meet our friends at the go-karts.

That night…I met friends that I didn’t even know I had. I had jack daniels for the first time. I also drove a go-kart while drinking a bottle of jack daniels (Megan’s parents…I really hope you aren’t reading this).

I drank that entire bottle that evening (it was a small bottle..let’s not kid ourselves), and I had one of the best nights of my life.

Some of you remember that night very well, and I’ll leave it up to you to carry on the memory, because I’m not sharing anymore on here! The rest is a secret ❤

I’m gonna stay 18 forever..

Track 12-Soco Amaretto Lime”

Passed out on the overpass
Sunday best and broken glass
Broken down from the bikes and bars
Suspended like spirits over speeding cars

You and me we’re kings over the parkway tonight
And tonight will go on forever while we
Walk around this town like we own the streets
And stay awake through summer like we own the heat

Singing ‘Everybody wake up it’s time to get down’
(Wake up everybody, everybody wake up it’s time to get down)
And when I pass the bottle back to Pete
On the overpass tonight, I bet we laugh

I’m gonna stay eighteen forever
(Cut me open)
So we can stay like this forever
(Sun poisoned)
And we’ll never miss a party
(This offer)
‘Cause we keep them going constantly
(Stands forever)

And we’ll never have to listen
(New haircut)
To anyone about anything
(New bracelet)
‘Cause it’s all been done and it’s all been said
(Eyeliner)
We’re the coolest kids and we take what we can get

The hell out of this town find some conversation
The low fuel lights been on for days, it doesn’t mean anything
I’ve got another 500, ‘nother 500 miles
Before we shut this engine down, we shut it down

I’m gonna stay eighteen forever
(Cut me open)
So we can stay like this forever
(Sun poisoned)
And we’ll never miss a party
(This offer)
‘Cause we keep them going constantly
(Stands forever)

And we’ll never have to listen
(New haircut)
To anyone about anything
(New bracelet)
‘Cause it’s all been done and it’s all been said
(Eyeliner)
We’re the coolest kids and we take what we can get
(Wait forever)

Eighteen forever
(First kisses)
(Your stomach’s filled up but you’re starved for conversation)
So we can stay like this forever
(New stitches)
(You’re spending all your nights growing old in your bed)
And we’ll never miss a party
(Collar weekend)
(And your tearin’ up your photos ’cause you wanna forget it’s over)
‘Cause we keep them going constantly
(Appearance ticket)

And we’ll never have to listen
(November to)
(Your stomach’s filled up but you’re starved for conversation)
To anyone about anything ’cause it’s all been done
(Remember)
(You’re spending all your nights growing old in your bed)
And it’s all been said
(Night swimmers)
(And your tearin’ up your photos ’cause you wanna forget it’s over)
We’re the coolest kids and we take what we can get

Just jealous ’cause we’re young and in love
You’re just jealous ’cause we’re young and in love
You’re just jealous ’cause we’re young and in love
You’re just jealous ’cause we’re young and in love
You’re just jealous ’cause we’re young and in love
You’re just jealous

 

Tomorrow: “Through Being Cool” by Saves The Day  Might as well keep this emo train a-movin’!

Leave a Reply

