Day 129: “Stay What You Are” by Saves The Day

us
Myself & Kaitlin from our high school days when we decided to go on a hike! 🙂

 

This is probably one of my favorite albums of all time. It starts out with:

Track 1- “At Your Funeral” which was one of the most memorable songs of my high school years. It was a song that I related to deeply. In high school, I had a lot of friends. All of them came from different backgrounds, and different “cliques”. Although I was very open-minded, and caring….I had myself some pretty strong opinions! These opinions were mostly geared in the direction of recreational drug use, alcohol and…my favorite “hypocrisy”. I had the X’s on my hands…and the straight edge mentality that I was right and they were wrong. But, more than that, I was upset and afraid. I knew the consequences that followed, and I didn’t want to lose any of my friends. God forbid I would have to check one off my myspace list!

I have since changed…haha

Track 2- “See you”…being nervous to pursue someone you are interested in? I think we’ve all been there!

Track 3- “Cars & Calories” I love this song… It’s about someone that can’t live outside a materialistic lifestyle.

Track 4- “Certain Tragedy”

he sings:

I’ll probably hang upside down from wooden rafters in my home
and look at old photos of you.
I miss the warmth of the summer when we were on our own,
but now it’s winter and my bones are cold.

Track 5- “Jukebox Breakdown” This song reminds me a lot of New Found Glory’s “Ballad for the Lost Romantics”  It seams like both lyricists are speaking to their audiences, feeling like puppets and exclaiming that we don’t really know who they are.

Track 6- “Freakish” Break-ups… 😐 Written in a beautiful way!

he sings:

As I’m talking my words slip to the floor
And they crawl through your legs and slide under the back door
Rendering me freakish and dazed

Track 7- “As Your Ghost Takes Flight” poetic exaggeration of anger towards an ex? I mean, I hope it is exaggeration..

he sings:

The last time I saw you, August of ’99, I should have had my hammer and a few rusty spikes to nail you on a wall and use bottles to catch your blood and display you for the neighbors so they know your time had come. And I’d drink your blood and feel it dripping down my throat as it heads for my heart. And as your body sags and the stench rises in vain, the people on the street are collecting in dismay. Before their eyes your head lifts towards the sky and that’s the last thing they’ll remember of you. You’ve become a ghost. You’re floating somewhere in between the waking world and a landscape of dreams. Well it’s nothing but dying. You’ve got a grenade stuck in your teeth and you’re pulling at the pin. You’re an illusion, just a shadow flickering underneath the sun.

Track 8- “Nightingale” most romantic song on this album… ❤

And I will flail under these lights that seep down from the bitter sky tonight
And I will kick and beat my wrists together
And feel an ocean breathing waves, feel them licking at my face.
Ceilings don’t exist and there are no floors beneath me.
If I were king of this night, would you become my queen?
And I hope, your majesty that you like your position.

Track 9-“All I’m Losing Is Me” I don’t think there has been a time in my life that I questioned life more, than when I was in high school. The struggle was real, but always a light at the end of the tunnel.

Track 10- “This is not an Exit” I think this song is about hope. Learning how to deal with obstacles, and not taking the easy way out.

Track 11- “Firefly” my favorite.

he sings:

Prepare to be ravaged by our lust burning mad, the fire that we’ve become.
And I know you’re under me but I must confess what’s in my head:
To me you are the light from a light bulb that breaks sometimes
And the tender warmth inside is released into my life
And it smothers me in flames that lick and scorch my face.
As the smoke reaches the sky know I’m burning tonight.

 

Tomorrow: “Say It Like You Mean It” by The Starting Line

Leave a Reply

