Day 140: Pontiac by Lyle Lovett

 

It was a beautiful Friday morning, and my boss excused me to leave early for a concert I was going to see at The Hollywood Bowl with my friends Meghan & Anna.

I had never been to The Hollywood Bowl before, and had no idea what to expect. As I typically do when I’ve never been to a place…I have to get their super early. I hate being late. I especially hate being late to a concert.

This concert was special. It was Willie Nelson’s 80th birthday! Lyle Lovett & his Big Band were the opening act.

I like Willie Nelson and I like Lyle Lovett. I can’t say they belong in my favorites, but I enjoy listening to them from time to time. That didn’t take away from the fact that The Hollywood Bowl is the most magical place to see a concert!

The Hollywood Bowl:

Imagine climbing up a pathway covered in trees to an enormous amphitheater. ENORMOUS! Your seats are pretty far back…and the people on stage look like ants. Disappointed? If all you care about is a hottie on stage with a guitar..this is probably not the right place for you to see a show. If you are there for the music and the sound, be prepared to be blown away. I had never experienced better acoustics in an outdoor venue in my life.Crystal Clear.

I will definitely be back…

By the way, this album is pretty boring. Don’t recommend it. I just really like his song about the boat 😉

Track 1- “If I had a Boat”

If I had a boat
I’d go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I’d ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Me upon my pony on my boat

If I were Roy Rogers
I’d sure enough be single
I couldn’t bring myself to marrying old Dale
It’d just be me and trigger
We’d go riding through them movies
Then we’d buy a boat and on the sea we’d sail

And if I had a boat
I’d go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I’d ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Me upon my pony on my boat

The mystery masked man was smart
He got himself a Tonto
‘Cause Tonto did the dirty work for free
But Tonto he was smarter
And one day said kemo sabe
Kiss my ass I bought a boat
I’m going out to sea

And if I had a boat
I’d go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I’d ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Me upon my pony on my boat

And if I were like lightning
I wouldn’t need no sneakers
I’d come and go wherever I would please
And I’d scare ’em by the shade tree
And I’d scare ’em by the light pole
But I would not scare my pony on my boat out on the sea

And if I had a boat
I’d go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I’d ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Me upon my pony on my boat

 

To the weeeeeekend! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

