Day 166: “Steal the Light” by The Cat Empire

2264_567724793408_2554_n
Dad playing his double Euphonium….in bed?

 

 

Day 166:  “Steal the Light” by Cat Empire

This week is often the hardest of the year for me, as it marks the anniversary of my Dad’s passing. It is important to remind myself that he would never want me to be sad, or wallow. So instead, I filled my week with the most fantastic and fun SKA music I could find from my past.

No, my Dad wasn’t into “SKA” (or at least not the kind of Ska I was listening to), but he’d often peek into my room when I was younger and crack jokes about my love for this type of music.

Out of all the albums this week, I do think my Dad would have enjoyed The Cat Empire. I’m also pretty sure he would have thoroughly enjoyed getting his dance on to this album, and I’m pretty sure you will too 🙂

So Dad, this one is for you and everyone else you may know!

 

Track 3- “Steal the Light”

Sing now muse I won’t be scared
She’s wearing flowers not snakes up in her hair tonight
And love we’ve been around before
We washed up on the old shore but it’s new tonight

‘It’s only light’ she said
‘But we are liars to be free’
Ooh ooh ooh we’ll steal the light to see

The hour falls we fall to dance
Now sirens and the marching bands sing
‘It’s nothing but chance tonight’
The billion ones and many few
And everyone I never new they’re here tonight

‘It’s only light’ we said
But we are liars to be free
Ooh ooh ooh we’ll steal the light to see

What if I’m lonely?
What if the skies should fall and disappear?
For one night only
Open your eyes and run into the clear
So if I may, what if I say
‘It’s good to have you here!’

She said ‘If you lead I’ll come along
And if you need me there I’ll sing your song tonight
And all that glows and all that shines
And all we leave behind will keep them warm tonight’

‘It’s only light’ I said
But we are liars to be free
Ooh ooh ooh we’ll steal the light to see

What if I’m lonely?
What if the skies should fall and disappear?
For one night only
Open your eyes and run into the clear
I love you only
Until the skies fall down and disappear
So if I may, what if I say
‘It’s good to have you here!’
Oh oh oh…

 

I could dance to this album all year long! I love it! Undoubtedly a great cure for the case of the dreaded Mondays! Dance your dread away!

 

Tomorrow: “Keasbey Nights” by Streetlight Manifesto

 

Leave a Reply

