Day 172: “Colorblind” by Robert Randolph & The Family Band

14218243_10102691912463248_116000729_n
The fabulous Heather 🙂

 

Day 172: “Colorblind” by Robert Randolph & The Family Band

I truly needed this album today. It couldn’t have been timed more perfectly! Heather introduced me to Robert Randolph & The Family Band about 6 years ago.

We were working together at a small family owned restaurant in Escondido called “Tango”. I lived down the street from the restaurant, but Heather lived all the way down south in San Diego. She would conveniently come to visit me before and after work, since we didn’t share the same shifts.

One day Heather was over, and we were having a particularly fun afternoon chatting and smoking Nat Shermans in the courtyard of my apartment complex. I was super excited to show Heather the new bright green round rug I had purchased a few days prior.

She followed me back to my apartment to see the rug. Then, traditionally we would rock out to some new tunes. This time she had something that her fiance (now husband) had introduced to her. It was this album 🙂

We danced around the new green rug…and at some point I’m pretty sure I made a reference regarding the rug being like the grass outside, and that the music was perfect for a BBQ. Now every time we hear these songs we exclaim, “Roastin’ doggies on the fire”….and that there explains our weird humor/imagination fused with the power of music!

 

AIN’T NOTHING WROOOOONG WITH THAT! 🙂

 

Tomorrow: “Rockin’ the Suburbs” by Ben Folds …one of my all time favs…

Leave a Reply

