Day 179: “Bayside” by Bayside

Day 179: “Bayside” by Bayside

I’m not really sure what they were trying to achieve with this music video…but I really like this song 🙂 Again, another great lyricist!

This is another great instance in which music plays a role in connections! I found out my co-worker is a Bayside fan when I went into work one day wearing one of their shirts. We went to their concert this evening, and it was AWESOME (of course).

Track 2 ” Devotion & Desire”

he sings:

Trying to create something that’s not there.
A spark I saw as a bomb is just a means to an end.
And I was just so happy to be out of my shell again,
don’t think that I really cared for who or what.
So for now I’ll just have to keep it shut.

If you’re not ready, you’re not ready.
Please stop acting like you are.

How could I know
that everything you say are lies about devotion and desire?
And I know the spark inside your eyes
was just the match I used to set myself on fire.

My mouth’s shooting blanks.
Situation’s unbearable,
I’ve gotten vulnerable.
Now anyone is free to waltz right in.
My temple’s been invaded
and there’s nobody guarding it.
All over this lonely life,
but what’s so wrong with being all alone?
Alone’s the only way I’ve ever known.

So, it has been a long time since I’ve actually written about an album in full…which is kind of sad because that was one of the main purposes of conducting this music challenge. I wanted to appreciate the art of the “album”. I guess this just goes to show again how busy and disconnected we become in our lives today. Everything is available at the click of a button. Why spend time listening to an album the whole way through, when you can just type in your favorite songs and listen to them. The problem with that is that a lot of the time you miss out on some really significant material. A lot of albums are almost like a novel. I don’t think that is the case on this particular album, but you can definitely detect the similarities of content from song to song. Perhaps a reflection on what was happening to this artist during that time frame.

When Bayside was touring for this album in 2005, their drummer was killed in a car accident after hitting a patch of ice on route to their next show. He was only 31 years old.

Last October, the 10 year anniversary of Beatz passing, Anthony Raneri wrote via Facebook:

“The truth is that we don’t look back at John and get sad.We talk about him amongst ourselves daily and it’s always with smiles. We tell stories about him, not in the way that you would eulogize someone, but in the way you talk about a friend that you can’t wait to see again. John’s family lost an amazing husband, brother and son and we lost a great friend. To us, that is what the world lost when John Beatz passed away. Bayside losing a drummer has always just seemed trivial to mention in that list. He would have told you that he was a husband, a brother, a son and a friend first and that’s who he will always be to the people that loved him.”

Rest in Peace, Beatz.

Day 180: “Sirens and Condolences” by Bayside…because I just can’t get enough of Anthony Raneri’s voice.

Leave a Reply

