Day 206. “Blonde” by Frank Ocean

14691196_10102782854245188_5014626799305147985_o
Lake Merrit, Oakland. Illuminated installations!

Day 206. “Blonde” by Frank Ocean

A rainy monday. Perfect timing to finally explore the new Frank Ocean album. Sure glad I did, as it is just as beautiful as I expected it to be.

Track 1- “Nikes”

he raps:

We’ll let you guys prophesy
We gon’ see the future first
Living so the last night feels like a past life
Speaking of the, don’t know what got into people
Devil be possessin homies
Demons try to body jump

Track 2- “Ivy”

he sings:

We’ll never be those kids again
We’d drive to Syd’s, had the X6 back then
Back then
No matter what I did
My waves wouldn’t dip back then
Everything sucked back then
We were friends

Track 3- “Pink + White”

he sings:

Cannon ball off the porch side
Older kids trying off the roof
Just the same way you showed me (you showed)
If you could die and come back to life
Up for air from the swimming pool
You kneel down to the dry land
Kiss the Earth that birthed you
Gave you tools just to stay alive
And make it up when the sun is ruined

Track 5-“Solo”

he sings:

We too loud in public then police turned down the function
Now we outside and the timing’s perfect
Forgot to tell you, gotta tell you how much I vibe with you
And we don’t gotta be solo

Track 6- “Skyline to”

he sings:

Sunrising, sand, comes a morning, haunting us with the beams
So it ain’t as far as it used to be
It begins to blur, we get older (Blur!)
Summer’s not as long as it used to be
Everyday counts like crazy (Smoke, hazy)

Track 7- “Self Control”

he sings:

Now and then you miss it, sounds make you cry
Some nights you dance with tears in your eyes
I came to visit cause you see me like a UFO
That’s like never cause I made you use your self control
And you made me lose my self control, my self control

Track 9-“Nights”

he sings:

My whole body see through
Transportation, handmade
And I know it better than most people
I don’t trust them anyways

Track 11- “Pretty Sweet”

he sings:

Head bang with my four friends
We pour taste out for the dead
This is the blood, the body, the life right now
The hype right now
Might be what I need

Track 14- “White Ferrari”

he sings:

One too many years
So taste what I lived on a facelift
Mind over matter is magic
I do magic
If you think about it it’s over in no time the best life

Track 15- “Seigfried”

he sings:

The markings on your surface
Your speckled face
Flawed crystals hang from your ears
I couldn’t gauge your fears
I can’t relate to my peers
I’d rather live outside
I’d rather chip my pride than lose my mind out here
Maybe I’m a fool
Maybe I should move
And settle, two kids and a swimming pool
I’m not brave (brave)
I’m not brave

Track 17- “Futura Free”

he sings:

How far is a light year?

Tomorrow: “iii” by Miike Snow

Leave a Reply

