Day 238. “Visions” by Grimes

1928976_518827643688_7322_n
Streets of Pittsburg at Night with my friend Brittany. Buddy System. 2007. 

Day 238. “Visions” by Grimes

What a great album!

In 2010, Grimes began to write, record and produce what would become her third album in extended isolation over a three-week period.[14] at home in Montreal, and described her writing process as being “equally enjoyable and tortuous”.[15] During recording, she was reclusive and insomniac with blacked out windows, for nine days, to induce hallucinations, explaining “you have no stimulation, so your subconscious starts filling in the blanks. I started to feel like I was channelling spirits. I was convinced my music was a gift from God. It was like I knew exactly what to do next, as if my songs were already written.”[14] The album was recorded entirely on Apple’s GarageBand, using vocal pedals, a sampler and a Juno-G keyboard.

 

I realize I should be writing about the album as a whole, or how this has effected my life… However, the connection is merely the song “Oblivion”.

The fear of walking alone at night as a female. I remember moving to Esondido in 2009, and witnessing the public’s reaction to the rape & murder of Amber Dobois (which happened in broad day light)…thinking..I’ll never go anywhere alone again. Of course, that didn’t happen. I walk alone often. However, that feeling of vunrability is always there.

I grew up in the suburbs of Amish country…I never really had to excersize my street smarts until I moved to the city of Pittsburg for college. Even then, I had pretty thick skin…and thought I was invinceable to anything. That was until some peers were held at gunpoint outside our apartment complex. Noted. Anything can happen. Bringing back the good ole’ buddy system.

Tomorrow: “Deep Cuts” by The Knife

Leave a Reply

