Day 66. “The Heist” by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Listen here.

“Ten thousand hours…I’m so damn close I can taste it.”

When I first heard Macklemore, my friend Megan has sent me a video of their song “Thrift Shop“.

Shortly after I listened to that song so many times that I am surprised that I can still tolerate it.

Every song on this album is 110%. You can tell that they poured their hearts into it.

Track 2- “Can’t Hold Us”

Can we go back, this is the moment
Tonight is the night, we’ll fight ’til it’s over
So we put our hands up like the ceiling can’t hold us
Like the ceiling can’t hold us

Listen.

Track 4- “Thin Line”

Let’s fake another toast to the good life
Predict the future, clean slate, blue sky
Fantasy of me husband and you wife
Lyin’, staring into those two eyes
And I can’t take it, back to where we came from
My pavement, past the emotional earthquake foundation
Yeah, let’s keep swimming in the snake pit
Get bit, get out then jump back into the suffocation
Make up and fuck to save us like we got this
Come on, this is just us baby
And this is just a fight, this is just love – maybe
Is it just you or am I fucking crazy?
I swear to god, I wish that I could Photoshop the scars off
Cold world and gettin’ my heart thawed
And I said it all and never get lock jaw
Mouth is a sawed off shotgun at any second could pop off
How does the truth taste?

Yep…just listen to this album.

Tomorrow: “Thickfreakness” by The Black Keys

Leave a comment